Numerous states have restricted vehicle sales under stay-at-home and nonessential-business orders.
Alaska as of last week was allowing only remote sales and those by special appointment, according to the Alaska Automobile Dealers Association. Businesses failing to comply with Alaska’s mandate may be ordered to cease operations and/or receive a fine of up to $1,000 per violation.
Alaska’s order says that, under certain circumstances, an individual or organization failing to comply could be criminally prosecuted for reckless endangerment, a misdemeanor. If convicted, a person could be sentenced to up to a year in jail and fined up to $25,000, while a business could receive a $2.5 million fine for a misdemeanor charge resulting in death or $500,000 for an offense not resulting in death.
Michigan is among states with stay-at-home orders that allow dealerships to operate service but deem sales as nonessential.
Failing to comply with Gov. Gretchen Whitmer’s order could mean a $1,000 fine…